Need help and advice on newly acquired 60 gallon. Brand ID and gunk in oil Q's

7 years 3 weeks ago #2034 by PaulBoon
Hi guys, this is my first post! I have very little knowledge on compressors. I first watched Eric's youtube video "choosing the right air compressor oil".

Then called and spoke to Candace who pointed me to this forum. I've never learned so much about compressors in such short time with all the videos and the support here! Thanks to all contributors!

I recently picked up a 60 gallon compressor from my shop neighbor since his downsizing. I was researching some maintenance videos which lead me here.

After watching more of the vids on aircompressorpartsonline I've decided on a few first steps before putting the compressor into action: please let me know if you have ANY suggestions as I'm still learning. Thank you in advance for all your help!

1. Identify compressor
2. replace oil and filter
3. figure out the proper filter dryer setup...

What I know so far about the compressor:
- It seems this machine was built 30+ years ago according from the date on the tank.
- It's been sitting for over 10 years without use.
- The air filter foam deteriorated to the point of collapsing on touch!
- There was still a tiny bit of water coming out of the bottom drain (about 4-5 tablespoons)
- The sight glass for the oil is completely covered in gunk and cannot see through

Question 1
How do I clean the gunk out of the oil container? I can't see into the sight glass and I'm able to scrape oily gunk with a metal stick through the fill hole. What product or cleaner do you recommend to flush out the dirt and old oil?

Question 2
Should I unscrew the sight glass and clean it? (I'm afraid that the seals may break and I don't know where to get any replacement parts without knowing the model) I was also thinking of just making a simple dipstick with markings since I can't see through the glass.

Question 3
What brand is this and where can I find more info on it.